Reflecting

I’ve been back in the UK for the last 3 weeks (not for good, I’m heading back to Greece for the summer in a few hours), and I’ve developed an annoying habit. Whenever anyone asks me how the last year has been, my immediate answer is “interesting”. It’s like I can’t think of any other way to sum it up. And it’s not untrue: it HAS been interesting, getting to know the country as an adult, seeing quite how different things operate over there, etc etc. But if I’m being honest, when I tell people it’s been “interesting”, what I actually mean is that it’s been depressing and fascinating and awesome and infuriating; I’ve had fun, learnt to be independent, developed some self-confidence, but also been horrendously down, become less flexible; I’ve seen and experienced some amazing things, been to gigs and talks by myself, rediscovered my creativity in ways I wouldn’t have imagined with the kids, but also had to deal with less pleasant aspects of life and had to face the reality of being a young woman pretty much alone in a huge city. I’ve been happy, sad, excited, lonely, jealous of my friends back in England, angry at myself and others. It’s been a rollercoaster, thrilling yet stomach-churning; and a relief to reach the end in one piece. I don’t regret taking the year, but I DO regret not taking advantage of it fully. Not much I can do about it now though. I’ll just do my best to learn my lesson 🙂

Leave a Reply

